Nancy McPherson Chair

Responsible for integrating a population health approach to the planning and delivery of programs and services throughout Brandon Regional Health Authority, Nancy has experience in acute care, community health, health planning and evaluation; working in many diverse communities across Canada, as well as in the West Indies and Northeastern Siberia.

Elizabeth Stephenson Vice Chair

Elizabeth is Chief Administrative Officer with the Liquor and Gaming Authority of Manitoba and a long time advocate of collaborative research and public education initiatives linked to public health and wellbeing. She also serves as the co-chair of the Canadian Partnership for Responsible Gambling and as a member of the Manitoba Gambling Research Council.

Kathleen BlueSky

Kathleen is a strategic visionary and resourceful manager with 14 years of experience working with First Nations, government representatives, elected officials, and not-for-profit community organizations. Currently working with the Intergovernmental Committee on Manitoba First Nations Health, Kathleen has a diverse background including practical experience in group facilitation, strategic planning, policy analysis, enhancing governance structures, financial management, and risk management.

Lana Cowling-Mason

Lana was born and raised in rural Manitoba and has spent the last 16 years working in community development. She continues to be inspired by the volunteers and community champions who work so hard to keep rural Manitoba vibrant and is driven to support their efforts. Lana is an active member of various regional development agencies, including the Economic Developers Association of Manitoba, serving as a member of the executive and program committee.

Cheryl Sluis

Cheryl holds a Bachelor degree in Interior Design (B.I.D.) from the University of Manitoba. She has several years of experience in the areas of project management, strategic planning, and change management. As Project Manager for St. Amant, she oversees the Project Management Office providing structure and guidance related to strategic projects and reporting. She participates in a variety of ways in her community as a coach, a classroom representative and advisor.

Lawrence Elliott

Lawrence is an Associate Professor in the Department of Community Health Sciences at the University of Manitoba, where he teaches public health epidemiology and collaborates on research into public health issues. Currently also working as a public health physician with the Winnipeg Regional Health Authority and Manitoba Health, Dr. Elliott has had prior medical experience in northern/remote regions (including Nunavut, the Yukon and Northern Manitoba) and the inner-city of Winnipeg. His practice, research and teaching focuses on prevention as a means to optimize population health.

Christina Weise

Christina is the Chief Executive Officer of Research Manitoba and holds a Master’s degree in public administration from the University of Manitoba. She has more than 20 years of experience developing and implementing public policy in the areas of research and innovation, as well as managing funds and programs to support research.  Christina promotes collaboration among the research enterprise in Manitoba and Canada through participating on key boards and committees including, the National Alliance for Provincial Health Research Organizations, Bioscience Association of Manitoba, the Institute of Health Services and Policy Research and the Centre for Healthcare Innovation.

Jonathan K. Fleury